Government of Trinidad and

Minimum Wages Board


In March 2017, Cabinet agreed to the reconstitution of the Board and the reappointment/appointment of members, in accordance with the provision of Section 5(1) of the Minimum Wage Act, Chapter 88:04 for a period of three years. The Minimum Wages Board was established in March 1977, pursuant to the provisions of Section 4 of the Minimum Wages Act Chapter 88:04. The National Minimum Wage Rate was introduced in Trinidad and Tobago in April 1998. It was first established at $7.00 per hour and subsequently increased in January 2003 to $8.00 per hour and then to $9.00 per hour in March 2005. The National Minimum Wage was increased from $9 per hour to $12.50 per hour with effect from January 2010, and subsequently from $12.50 per hour to $15.00 per hour with effect from January 2015. The latest increase in the Minimum Wage will be from $17.50 to $20.50 per hour from January 2024.

The newly appointed Minimum Wages Board received Instruments of Appointment from The Minister of Labour, the Honourable Stephen Mc Clashie on November 27, 2023 at Ministry of Labour’s Head Office at the International Waterfront Centre in Port of Spain.

Minimum Wage Board


Caption: The Honourable Stephen Mc Clashie, Minister of Labour (centre), flanked by Ms. Natalie Willis (Permanent Secretary) to his left, and joined by other members of the Minimum Wages Board: From L-R: Ms. Sanika Tyson, Ms. Juliana Henry-King, Mr. Oswald Warwick. 

Back Row: L-R: Mr. Cadelle Pierre, Mr. Douglas Williams and Ms. Knafesa George-Paul.

Missing from the photo: Chairperson, Ms. Judith Sobion and board member Mr. Bryan Rooplal (due to prior commitments)